What is Yoga?

Jodan78 Uncategorized

Many people look at yoga, show interest, and fear when it seems too complicated. It seems that there are so many branches, limbs, postures, devotions, spin-offs and many other difficult names. Confusing, right? The image that comes to mind first when you hear the word Yoga is a group of people who are cumbersome, or even seemingly impossible, with skimpy clothing. This is true to some extent, but only the tip of the iceberg.

Yoga is an ancient knowledge that has been back for more than 5,000 years and an all-encompassing expression of discipline (physical, spiritual and spiritual) that originates from ancient India. It is one of the six orthodontic schools of Buddhism, Jinanism, Sikhism and Hindu philosophy and Vedic scriptures. The core is based on the Patanjali yoga sutras, an eight-sided path (or steps) that form a basic structure (and framework) for practicing this holistic discipline without a hierarchical order – one does not rise above the other. The actual word & # 39; Yoga & # 39; literally means & quot; in & quot; connect, merge, integrate, or attach. The ancient yogis believed that people should be in harmony with themselves and with the surrounding environment, the balanced integration of body, mind and spirit is essential. Yoga deals with a combination of meditation, breathing techniques and yoga practices with the aim of achieving peace, spiritual insight and enlightenment. A student with a committed commitment to Yoga philosophy is called Yogi.

The eight limbs of yoga (Patanjali yoga sutras)

Patanjali is widely recognized as the official translator of Yoga philosophy, using his system (Patanjali yoga or Raja yoga) for mind and endless thoughts checking. His writings have laid the foundations for ashtanga yoga, which is also called eight-limbed yoga, and this eight-limbed concept is fundamentally characteristic of today's practice in all Raja yoga variations. The eight limbs are as follows:

1. Yama – universal morality or ethics (five abstention) – no violence, no lie (justice), loyalty (or theft), sexual restriction (celibacy) and possession (acquisitions).

2nd Niyama – Personal observations and behavior (the five observations) – purity, satisfaction, constraint, study of scriptures, and divine surrender.

3rd Asana – literally means taking a seat & # 39; and posture practices and sitting positions that are prevalent in yoga.

4th Pranayama – & # 39; Suspending your breath & # 39; or Breath control, breathing exercises and vigor control as Prana.

5th Pratyahara – Abstraction, retraction and control of senses from external objects.

6th Dharana – Concentration, attention (to one subject) and internal consciousness.

7th Dhyana – meditation, intensive contemplation of the nature of divine object / devotion.

8th Samadhi – liberation, connecting consciousness with the object / divine entity.

So these are the eight end of Yoga. Have we been confused before? We hope not.

There are six yoga sectors with which you can view

1. – Hatha Yoga (posture Yoga)

This branch is likely to be recognized and the most popular western form of yoga. Hatha Yoga focuses on physical postures (Asana), breathing techniques (Pranayama), and meditation (Dhyana).

2nd – Bhakti Yoga (Yoga for Dedication)

Bhakti Yoga is the most favored yoga practice in India, and the heart and emotions of Bhakti Yogis see everything and everyone around them.

3rd – Raja Yoga (Self-Testing Yoga)

Raja literally means Royal, and is based on the above-mentioned teachings of the Yoga Yoga.

4th – Jnana Yoga (Yoga the Mind)

This Yoga Path focuses primarily on mind, intellect, wisdom, and intelligence. There is a difference between intellect and wisdom, and Jnana Yogis aims to unite the two.

5th – Karma Yoga (Yoga on Service)

Karma Yogis believes that your current situation is based on past past acts and an unselfish path to ensure a future free from selfishness and negativity.

6th – Tantra Yoga (Rituals Yoga)

This is a misunderstood way of yoga, many assuming they only focus on sexual aspects. Although this form is part of Tantra Yoga, it is not necessarily part of it.

In summary, Tantra Yogis uses rituals to experience the general sacrament, and must have qualities such as purity, cosmic love, devotion and justice.

Have any of the yoga branches or the limbs been raised or appealed? Your individual experience in yoga evolves over time as you practice and get to your lessons. And while yoga can be seen as a spiritual mission, there will be many health, knowledge, tranquility and happiness along the way.

Namaste (Light in me, bows in your light)

Om Shanti (Peace)

You May Also Like..

All About Yoga Mats

Yoga mats are available in many sizes and shapes to look after your body and soul. There are many options […]

How To Choose A Yoga Mat Bag

Yoga mat bags are an important accessory when practicing yoga. If you practice regularly, sooner or later you will have […]

Mat Yoga – How to find the perfect yoga mat

If you are just starting to use mats made by your studio – they are clean, good and thick enough […]